Treating Tea With Suspicion

My tea bag supply ran out. Not just any tea bags but the tea bags that are flown in from Scotland because to be blunt I don’t really like the tea you can buy here in the Netherlands. I just find it very weak in comparison with tea from back home. When you have been brought up with Builders Tea all your life and arrive in NL, go shopping and find Engels Melange, or English Blend prepare to be dissapointed. It’s been a bug bear since I moved here and my family send emergency airdrops of the dark stuff on a regular basis, but that supply is done. Instead of sending a carrier doo with a ‘Send tea quick!’ message I’m venturing out to the shops to find something to satisfy my needs.

Whenever I am not at home and am offered something hot and steamy I’ll usuallly plump for coffee, at least with the Dutch you know where you are with coffee, not always with tea. I have often been offered tea because I am from the British Isles and they look in wonder as I leave the bag in the cup as I drink, they also look in wonder as I add milk. How can I drink such black tea they ask, and with milk?! I have tried Earl Grey, which I like, but  because I got a dodgy brew once it was very dry and left me wanting a proper brew of Builders Tea to quench my thirst. I have treated it with suspicion ever since, and am now only out of need bringing it back into the house.

I’m on the hunt for something new, can’t use Lipton since I heard they are linked with Monsanto and am trying to boycott that as much as possible, so am really limited to supermarket own brand here. Rediscovered Earl Grey and am enjoying that, remembered a good Fair Trade African black tea in a New Agey shop I tried a while back, so not all doom and gloom, but all this talk of tea is making me thirsty, I quite fancy a cup of tea, probably Earl Grey.

Builders Earl Grey that is…

Leave a Reply

