Apathy in NL… Oh! Selfies!

Ach, blog ideas, just like buses. You wait a while for one to come up then two arrive at the same time.

Was having a gander through one of my favourite online media outlets, that’ll be a news site or blog then, when I came across these two.

First up, this.
Just 20% of Dutch Voters are Interested in EU Elections.
Just 20% eh? That does worry me. Now I am pro EU but even I can see that they can be they’re own worst enemy at times. An organisation that could be slimmed down. Do they really need buildings in Brussels and Strasbourg? Must there be so many rules and regulations? Sometimes I feel it’s full of Civil Servants, in offices, coming up with random ideas just to justify their jobs and expences.
But for all their faults I would rather have the EU than not. We need more transparency. Give us a reason to vote.
My big concern is the apathy of many will provide a back door for the Euro sceptics, fruitcakes, swivel eyed loons, closet racists and general Rednecks into some real power in the EU because moderates chose not to vote.
I’ve been that cynic. A quote, one I can’t remember who originally said it, went “If voting changed anything, it would be made illeagal.”
I believed that, sometimes I still do, but the referendum on Scottish Independence in September has brought back a belief in grassroots politics. The Dutch local elections where local parties did well and took votes away from the mainstream parties also caught my eye.
Your vote can make a difference. Even if it’s a spoiled paper.

And then there was this!
Ballot Box Selfies NOT Illegal, Say Dutch Court

Is this a ploy to get more people to vote?! Wouldn’t suprise me. Go on get your vote in and take a photie while you’re at it. Your big smiling face next to your ballot paper with the big Anarchy symbol you drew in with the wee red pencil they supplied you with. Who am I to stop you? But seriously though, make an informed decision. I have a feeling this years EU Election could be a big one and I’d hate to see the rising tide of Euro sceptics turn into a Redneck tsunami.

You could do worse than have a look at this link here.
http://www.dutchnews.nl/elections/

Leave a Reply

